Soft Gaze
BUOYFRIEND
What took us so long to make love?
0:00
-9:53

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Soft Gaze

What took us so long to make love?

Sometimes the more you care about someone, the trickier it is to get nasty with them
1

Somehow we’ve been devoted to each other
from the moment we met in my doorway,
but it took me four hundred and sixty-seven days
to finally get you on all fours

Maybe it was your cock—
too big and kind of clumsy
or maybe it was me and the trauma I carry,
releasing from my body in sheets
as I allow myself to trust your love

Whatever it was, I wasn’t quite ready for the primal vigour of sex
with someone who matters like you do.

So we skirted around each other
awkward mammals in the longest mating dance
two squirrels in the nest
finding safety in the up-close
not yet ready for the danger
of coming inside.

Until now
Here. Today. On a futon in Oaxaca
in an open-air kitchen looking out onto the sea

We’re both feeling playful
and you’ve got me in your grip
oiled up with coconut
and your big hairy ass is not taking “no” for an answer.

This post is for paid subscribers

Soft Gaze
BUOYFRIEND
Real transmissions of queer love and sex. A celebration of the tender masculine.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Braden Alexander